Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Hilary Davidson

Hilary Davidson is the bestselling author of One Small Sacrifice. Toronto-born but based in New York, she’s also the author of the Lily Moore series, the standalone thriller Blood Always Tells, and the short-story collection The Black Widow Club. Her work has won two Anthony Awards and a Derringer Award.

Davidson's new novel is Don’t Look Down.

From her Q&A with Deborah Kalb:

Q: How did you come up with the idea for Don't Look Down?

A: I grew up watching a lot of old movies, and I was thinking about what was considered blackmail material back then versus what’s possible now.

We love to think that we’re more open today — and in some ways, we are — but social-media influencers construct identities that are just as artificial as those picture-perfect 1950s families were.

I started thinking about what kinds of secrets a person would pay dearly to keep, and realized that it’s not necessarily so different for a woman today, especially an ambitious one.

Jo Greaver, the suspect at the center of Don’t Look Down, was trafficked as a teenager, and while that makes her the victim, society can be...[read on]
Learn more about the book and the author at the official Hilary Davidson site.

The Page 69 Test: The Damage Done.

The Page 69 Test: Blood Always Tells.

The Page 69 Test: One Small Sacrifice.

Writers Read: Hilary Davidson (July 2019).

The Page 69 Test: Don't Look Down.

--Marshal Zeringue